RSS

WMD Proliferation – The Real Threat #1

12 Jun

I’m starting a new series where I’ll systematically examine a very important document – I doubt you’ve ever heard of it: “World at Risk – The Report of the Commission on the Prevention of WMD Proliferation and Terrorism,” (2008).

This was the result of a six-month commission charted by then-President Bush to examine the real threats posed by WMD proliferation. The results were very sobering and rather chilling. I am always on the lookout for constructive analysis related to Homeland Security and Antiterrorism. My eyes were opened by this document, and I think it deserves to be shared. I’m not sure how long this study will take, but I believe it’s worth doing.

I’m a security professional – I don’t put stock in hyperbole and conspiracy theories. I cite my references and facts in APA format like a good college boy – any academic types out there are probably beaming with pride right now! The issues I’ll address in this series are pertinent, salient points which need to be discussed. I’m not naive enough to believe that this blog will attract a large following, but for those who do drop by a time or two, I hope you find it worthwhile and sobering.

I’ll close with the first paragraph from the Commission’s report:

“The Commission believes that unless the world community acts decisively and with great urgency, it is more likely than not that a weapon of mass destruction will be used in a terrorist attack somewhere in the world by the end of 2013,” (World at Risk, 2008, p. xv).

Reference:

Graham, B., Talent, J., Allison, G., Cleveland, R., Rademaker, S., Roemer, T., Sherman, W., Sokolski, H. & Verma, R. (2008). World at Risk: The Report of the Commission on the Prevention of WMD Proliferation and Terrorism. New York, NY: Random House.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 12, 2011 in WMD Analysis

 

Leave a comment